A Sweet Baby Shower

I was lucky enough to be able throw my best girlfriend, Annie, her first Baby Shower.  She is having a little girl this December and I couldn’t be more excited to be an “Aunt.”  She is such a special lady to me and deserves the best.  So just 4 short weeks after our wedding, I threw her shower at my home.  She is a lot like myself luckily, so it wasn’t too hard to decide what to do.

I wanted to create a simple rustic setting yet something soft and sweet.  I highlighted the gift and buffet tables with simple hot pink plastic table cloths, and a white paper one for the dessert table.  I placed cream votive candles throughout those tables as centerpieces along with two bronze apples.  I had burlap table runners left over from my wedding so I ran them along all the tables (cheap fabric, easy to cut, shape and decorate).  I cut the length down on all of them and scalloped the edges with my fabric scissors.  I filled mason jars with pink, yellow and pink/yellow mixed carnations, cut short, so that they sat tightly together and created a nice rounded shape.  So sweet and delicate.

For food-I kept it light-and made it so that the ladies had many options, so they could take smaller portions of more food choices.  I made tea sandwiches as the main dish (with the help of my husband who made all of the fillings).  We had chicken salad and egg salad on both white and wheat bread.  Annie’s mom made caesar salad, her sister-n-law brought a pasta salad and pumpkin spice cupcakes (which were a hit), and Aunt Teresa made and brought chocolate and vanilla cupcakes.  Now, I am not a huge cake fan, but my Mom taught me about the 3 layer Vanilla/Vanilla Wegmans cake, which I have fallen in love with so I bought that and turned it into my dessert table centerpiece in my brand new cake stand (wedding present).   Added to that table was a beautiful diaper cake that her sister Katie made!

I didn’t do a whole lot with decorations.  I did more with the little details everywhere so that weren’t so obvious. Here’s what I did and is easy to do and budget friendly:

  • I put on display in the hutch, baby and childhood photographs of Annie and her husband Andy so people could ooooh and awww over them and guess what baby girl would look like.
  • Have guests write messages of love or piece of advice to the Mom, Dad or Baby.  I cut different rectangular sizes of brown craft paper and had out a coupe different colored markers.
  • Cut pieces of ribbon (larger than the mom’s baby bump) and have people mark off and initial at where they think how big her bump is at that time.  Place all of the ribbon in a pretty glass bowl or vase and it looks great as part of the decor.  Of course, get the mommy’s permission first.  Annie was ok with it and she is tiny.  It was the only “game” that we did.  I gave a prize (body lotion) to the winner.
  • I made a Mocktail in a pretty drink dispenser that I had and named it after their last name.
  • I purchased these cute pink striped cocktail straws from Etsy (here) that were a cute addition for the Mock-tails!

We opened gifts as everyone finished up eating…Annie is like me and doesn’t like the whole crowd staring at you as rip each piece of tape and wrapping paper off of each tiny gift.  There didn’t need to be an announcement that gifts were being opened.

As a Party Favor, I created a small candy buffet filled with Annie’s favorite candy’s and purchased white favor bags which I then stamped on “She’s Expecting” with the due date underneath in Pink (using a date stamp, like you used to see in your old library books).

Side Note: if your mommy-to-be is looking to build a library for their baby, ask each guest to bring a book for her, one of her favorites, or one that you grew up loving.

It turned out to be a great day for Annie and her family and friends to enjoy!  I was so happy to be a part of it and to have to her Mom and family help out with some of the dishes and details.

Can’t wait to meet her in 7 weeks 🙂

xoxo

Reba

Leave a Reply

