My first time as a Thanksgiving Hostess

This year, because we are living/housesitting in a fairly larger house than we are normally used to…we offered (or as my husband would say, I offered) up the house to have Thanksgiving.  16 people.  I can swing that.  Luckily, I had the help of my mother-in-law, my mom, my new sista, Russell’s aunts…they all contributed a lot to the day.  Liz (russells mom) and Lauren (my new sista) came over Thursday morning to pop the turkey in.  I had mimosa’s and cinnabons waiting for them as we prepped some other food items.  Always need a mimosa to start your holiday! 

A couple days before Thanksgiving I made the flower arrangements and put the table settings out.  I picked up some white hydrangeas and tall purple flowers from the local Produce Junction (5 packs of flowers for $9, can’t beat it).

We used the dining room table in the formal dining room which opens up to the foyer area where I placed our dining room table from our previous apartment.  I like to have a seat for everyone.  I used some of my burlap runners and white votive candles from our wedding for the tables.  Something else I have been doing lately…and for some reason I have a large supply of curtains…I threw a couple of my curtains on one of the tables and placed one of the burlap runners down the middle to cover the gap…no one ever knew they were curtains 🙂

The day came together and it was fab.  It was a crazy mess in the kitchen, everyone bumping into each other, music playing.  We had about 6 pies for 16 people.  My dad played air hockey against 2 teenage cousins..boys watched football in the man cave, I sipped on some warm spiced red wine in my mason jar wine glass that I didn’t get to use at my wedding because for some reason I couldn’t read the box they were labeled in..maybe I had been sipping wine when searching for them…anyways, what made this day truly special to me was that this was the first Holiday with bringing our 2 families together since being married 🙂

my little helper…Mystic

Leave a Reply

