The morning we found out

I want to start this post off saying that this is me, flashing back, 7 months.  Yes, it’s been over 7 months since I last wrote and that upsets me terribly.  I think about it everyday, but it’s just been a struggle to keep up with how busy life has really become.

Just about 25 weeks ago, Christmas morning, my husband Russell and I woke up in a hotel room, about 5 minutes away from where our parents live.  We were in a hotel because at the time, the Family that we were house-sitting for, were home for the holidays, so we were somewhat “homeless.”  Our wonderful friends and their 1 Year old had taken us into their home for 3 weeks, but we wanted to be able to give them their space and get ours, on Christmas morning.  And neither of us wanted to stay at each other parents house- so no need for an argument there.

So that morning, in that hotel room, I took out one of the pregnancy tests I had packed.  Yup, we were trying and had been for just a couple of months at that point.  I said, “should I take it?”  Knowing it was probably a tad to early to take the test (being only about 9 days past ovulation), I thought how cool would this be as a Christmas morning surprise, for just us to know about?  It would be our little secret.  Took the test and it told us a quick NO.  I was disappointed but kept telling myself it’s early to test, we’ll try again in a few days.  So we had ourselves a very Merry Christmas, just the 2 of us.

Image

3 days later…it was a Saturday morning and we were back out our friends home.  They had left the day prior to head to down to Florida for a week so we had the place to ourselves.   It was a beautiful Saturday morning (for December).  I said to Russell again, “well, should I?”  That was a question we had become familiar with over the past few months.   And he said, “sure, why not,” as usual.  At this point I was 12 days past ovulation.  There should be a pretty high chance that the test results would accurate by this point.  I mean, I felt pretty educated about all of that ovulation stuff and testing times, from all of the endless reading I had been doing over the past year!

So I took that test and waited a few minutes.  I was about to toss the test until I realized, or I thought, there was something appearing as a second line.  So I held it up to the light and there it was.  That second line was forming.  I stepped out into the hall and called for Russell. I said, “look, there’s a line.  I think that’s a line.  That’s a line, right?”  He took it, stared at it for what felt like 5 minutes, but it was probably only 10 seconds.  He held it up to the light and looked at me and agreed that yes that was indeed a second line.

Image

We were pregnant!!!

Wow- it’s almost like, what now?  What do we do?  We just hugged each other and gave each other a big kiss.  It’s a moment that you will never forget.  That moment when a tiny stick tells you that you are growing a human being inside of you.  How is that even possible?  How am and I going to do this? We are going to have a little “us.”  How cool is that??  Russ and I were on top of the moon (and we still are) and that’s when we decided, well, time to look for our first home to buy.  Another exciting chapter of these past 7 months!

Leave a Reply

